Spring – My Second Most Favoritest Season of the Year

I found an appealing recipe for Cuban Black Beans and Rice a few weeks ago. It landed in my “pile” and eventually was able to make the jump from my desk to my kitchen counter. It was OK. I got it from one of the diabetes support resources I have – one of many that I get (for free! Woohoo!) – as a diabetes educator. Some are fabulous and others, like this one, make me wonder if a) anyone actually made this recipe before they published it; b) they think that people with diabetes don’t have taste buds; or c) anyone actually made this recipe before they published it. Even with some heavy tweaking on my part it was a bit “meh”. I love beans and rice recipes, though, so I’m planning on doing my own version of it in a few weeks. Gotta finish eating this batch first.

So instead of a recipe I’m posting pictures from a recent tromp around the trails this past weekend. My friend Abby and I went on a walk last week and passed by some gorgeous, green landscapes and I swore I would get back there with my camera before the scene changed. Spring is so fickle I always feel like you have to be a little carpe diem with it. If it’s going to be 70-something degrees tonight, then we’re going to do fire pit tonight. If it’s not supposed to rain this morning, then I’m going for a run this morning. If you see a shot you want to take, well then you better figure out a way in your schedule to get back out there now, because in a few days it’s going to be a whole other animal (or vegetable or mineral)…just like the overnight temps have dropped into the 40s and the clouds are choosing to dump rain on us for the next…ten…days.

So, so fickle.

That’s why I love the fall. Fall doesn’t give up until Winter utterly beats the crap out of it.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Spring – My Second Most Favoritest Season of the Year

  1. Nice pictures! I also really like the header picture!

  2. Nice pictures! I also really like the header picture!

Leave a Reply

