Fudge-off

I was having trouble deciding if I wanted to post about this simple, yet perfect tomato soup I made the other day or if I wanted to post about fudge…

Duh.

Fudge…fudge means I’ve either made a recent trip to Branson or…it’s Christmas!!!  (Imagine an unnecessary amount of exclamation points here that I made myself delete.  I think three gets the point across.  It conveys excitement without making the reader wonder if I had a seizure on my keyboard.  It’s all about editing.)

So fudge.  A first in my kitchen, but my grandpa, my grandpa has been making it for years.  I’d start looking forward to it somewhere around early November, right when Thanksgiving popped up on the horizon.  I became attached to the fudge.  Too attached.  I started to have a fear that my seemingly never-ending fudge fortune might disappear.  What if there was NO fudge this year!  Travesty!  I mean yeah, there’s family and happiness and love…but what about the FUDGE!

*sigh*  I’m getting carried away again.

Let’s get to the point.  My grandpa makes fudge every year for Christmas and this year I was hoping to get in on the production side of things.  He actually has two recipes in his files.  One for a solidly good fudge and the other for a great fudge.  Neither of us knew which was which.  So we made a deal.  He would make one and I would make the other and we’d reconvene at Christmas and finally figure out which recipe was the good recipe.

This was my version.  It’s good fudge, but I think my grandpa might of had the better recipe.  Only time will tell.  Stay tuned!

Fudge

Ingredients

  • 12 oz evaporated milk
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 4 oz butter
  • 7 oz marshmallow creme/fluff
  • 12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Start melting butter in large saucepan over medium-high heat.
  2. Once butter is about halfway melted, mix in sugar and milk and stir constantly until mixture comes to rolling boil, slowly increasing the heat if needed.
    • Mixture will foam and double in size in this process, hence the large pot.  Use a long handled spoon to stir the syrup unless you enjoy the thrill of candied blisters on your fingers.
  3. Continue letting the mixture cook at rolling boil for 5 minutes (or until 238°F if using candy thermometer).
  4. Remove from heat and fold in chocolate and marshmallow creme.
  5. Pour into a 9 x 13″ greased pan and set aside on countertop or in fridge to cool until firm.

Oh! And before you go, check this out.  My friend Emily runs a food blog of her own (which was actually just recently featured on FreshlyPressed).  Lately she’s been featuring a lot of homemade presents you can make right in your kitchen.  A lot of familiar favorites like apple butter and some exotic gifts like vanilla lavender sugar.  I’ve been following along myself, ogling her creations only wishing I had enough time to make them all myself…and then look what popped up on my doorstep!!  

Thanks again Emily!  (Notice the dent in the candied pecans before I even finished snapping shots.)

And if I don’t get a chance to post again, Merry Christmas everyone!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Fudge-off

  1. Posting on fudge = a no brainer. I have actually never made fudge, so maybe I need to give your recipe a whirl! I can’t wait to hear about which recipe is the “good” one.

    P.S. Glad you liked the goodies 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  2. Ah: Fudge. My husband’s favourite and certainly not my forte to make. But your post has inspired me to at least give it a shot before I add it to the list of things that I CAN’T do.

    (I’ve read many a post on fudge but yours really caught my eye; it must have been your editing note on the moderate use of exclamation marks.)

    • Wow, what a nice comment! You definitely CAN make fudge! It’s much simpler than I would have guessed, too. And once you make it for yourself you can see how many exclamation points you can limit yourself to 😉

  3. YUM. Someone at work just gave me a tin of fudge. I’d like to make it, just never think to do it. I wonder what it would be like to put Bailey’s or irish cream whatever in the mix…

  4. Pingback: Apple Pie Scones | focusedfoodist

Leave a Reply

