Welcome! Have a cookie…

cut jack n' lenasHere we go, post numero uno.  If you followed me over from my previous mental meanderings, thanks for sticking with me!  If your new to my site, welcome!  I have many, many interests in life but I created this site to focus on two of them:  photography and food.  I could get into more backstory, but I’ve got plenty of time for that later.  Let’s get straight to the food.

I’m actually out of town right now; at my parents house for the sole purpose of baking Christmas cookies.  So while my dad was making macadamia nut cookies I made a cookie that I’ve eaten for years and years and years but never actually made until this afternoon:  Jack and Lena’s.  Yep, that’s a cookie name.  Around these parts we actually call them “Jackalenas”.  Seems a little odd, right.  But when you think about it, it would be pretty awesome to invite people over to your house and be all like, “Welcome, have a Kristy.”  Or, “I love these’s Kristy’s!  Can I have the recipe?”  Now it seems awesome, right?

jack n' lena dough

Jack n’ Lena’s are like very thin oatmeal cookies.  So thin, in fact, that the sugar actually caramelizes a bit and the cookie comes out crispier than no other.  I love them because they’re a bit on the old fashioned side, not exactly traditional, unique but familiar.  I’ve never come across a cookie quite like this anywhere else and they always remind me of my family.  There are still 2 more weeks before Christmas, so if you’re still in cookie-baking mode give these a try.  I can almost guarantee that no one else will be making them in your cookie exchange.  And if you’re not as big of a fan of the crispy cookie, check out my notes in the header.

Jack n’ Lena’s

For a chewier cookie, reduce the temp of your oven to 350°F

This batter also has no egg, so you can eat the batter worry-free 😉

Ingredients

  • 2 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup Canola oil
  • 1/4 cup boiling water (+ 1/4 cup in reserve)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375°F and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Mix all dry ingredients together (including sugars) in large bowl.
  3. Add in oil and water and mix until there is no more loose, dry mix.  This is when you may need 1 or 2 more tablespoons of the reserve boiling water in order to incorporate the last of the dry mixture.
  4. Split the dough into two balls – it’s easier to work with in batches.
  5. Roll each ball out between sheets of parchment paper until the dough is ~1/4″ thick.  Slightly thicker sheets will create a chewier cookie, but make sure that whatever thickness you do your dough is even, otherwise it will bake unevenly as well.
  6. Peel back the top sheet of parchment paper and use cookie cutters or the rim of a glass to cut the dough into shapes.  Move the cut cookies onto your prepared cookie sheets.
  7. Collect the scraps back into a ball and repeat the rolling out process until all your dough is used.
  8. Bake for 4-6 minutes, or until deeply golden brown.  Shorter for chewy cookies, longer for crispy cookies.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies 3″ cookies.

6 Comments

Filed under Dessert

6 responses to “Welcome! Have a cookie…

  1. I followed you! Have fun at home!

  2. Yay! Welcome to WordPress 🙂 The cookies look yummy!

  3. I made these cookies and brought them up to Wisconsin for a family visit this week. They were good! Thanks!

  4. Yay! I’m glad your family liked them Ashley!! Thanks for the feedback. Hope you got back home safe from Wisconsin!

Leave a Reply

